Skip to content

Play Me I’m Yours

July 9, 2010

Pianos will be donated to NYC public schools now that installation is complete.

From Birmingham, England to London, São Paulo to Sydney, and Barcelona, comes “Play Me I’m Yours” stateside.  British artist, Luke Jerram, placed 60 used pianos around the 5 boroughs for public use.  Everyone from professional musicians to those longing to be, activated the recently completed temporary installation.  Part of the charm is that by placing this object in a city and asking people to participate one produces an event space or architectural implication.  Bernard Tschumi’s “Event Space” revolves around this idea, however, in a more tectonic sense.  While my agenda is to promote architecture as a contributor to urban theatre, small urban interventions should not be underestimated.

Check out:  http://www.usatoday.com/news/nation/2010-07-01-pianos_N.htm

2 Comments leave one →
  1. nathanielwooten permalink
    July 12, 2010 2:46 am

    Daley! Glad to see you posting. As soon as I saw your blog title this project was the first I intended to suggest to you, as I recently read about it in the book “Ecological Urbanism.” Is this where you came across it? I also cant help but see the overlap with this particular project between theater and architectural activism (i.e. steve’s blog). I think this project is an interesting step between architectural urban theatre and the informal performers in the subways and on the street corners. I think architectures role in the latter has great potential.

  2. July 12, 2010 6:42 pm

    I have not seen “Ecological Urbanism”, however, I think I will have to check it out! I agree that this could be a form of activism and catharsis for the “crisis city”.

Leave a Reply

